At the Sultan Qaboos University Medical Journal (SQUMJ), we prioritise the highest standards of ethical practices in scholarly publishing. Our editorial board and team members are actively encouraged to stay informed about the latest ethical policies and guidelines. We emphasise continuous education and engagement with current best practices, aligning with recommendations from leading organizations such as the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), and the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME). This commitment enables our team to address emerging issues and uphold the integrity of our publication. Through ongoing training and participation in professional forums, SQUMJ ensures that our editorial team remains well-versed in contemporary ethical standards, contributing to the journal’s commitment to excellence and trustworthiness in medical research.

For further information on best practices and continuous education in publishing ethics, please visit:


Meet Our Editorial Team

Prof. Samir Al-Adawi
Dr. Mohamed Gomaa
Managing Editor
Mr. Alaister Denoyo
Technical Editor
Mrs. Stefanie Dietz
Assistant Editor

Editorial Board Members

Dr. Abdulaziz Al-Mahrezi
Family Medicine
Dr. Abdulaziz Bakathir
Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
Prof. Abdullah Al-Mujaini
Dr. Abdullah Al-Alawi
Acute Care & General Medicine and Medical Education
Dr. Abdulrahman Al-Azri
Oral Medicine & Pathology
Dr. Abeer Al-Sayegh
Dr. Adil Al-Kindi
Cardiothoracic Surgery
Dr. Adil Al-Amry
Dr. Aisha A. Al-Ali
Dr. Aly Abdelrahman
Dr. Ammar Al-Kashmiri
Emergency Medicine
Dr. Ammar Boudaka
Basic Medical Sciences
Prof. Amna Al-Futaisi
Paediatrics Neurology
Prof. Arunodaya Gujjar
Dr. Dawood Al-Riyami
Dr. Elias Said
Microbiology & Immunology
Dr. Ikram Burney
Dr. Jayakrishnan B.
Respirology & Pulmonology
Dr. Joseph Mathew
Urology Surgery
Prof. Jumana Saleh
Dr. Khalid Al-Naamani
Dr. Maha Al-Shaibi
Dr. Marwa Al-Riyami
Prof. Mohamed-Rachid Boulassel
Allied Health Sciences & Haematology
Dr. Mohammed A. Al-Lamki
Prof. Mohammed Al-Abri
Clinical Physiology & Sleep Medicine
Dr. Moon (Tony) Chan
Family Medicine & Public Health
Prof. Muna Al-Saadoon
Community Paediatrics
Dr. Murtadha Al-Khabori
Dr. Nadia Al-Wardy
Medical Education
Dr. Nihal Al-Riyami
Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Prof. Omar Al-Omari
Prof. Rashid Al-Abri
ENT Surgery
Dr. Ronald Wesonga
Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Srinivasa Rao
Human & Clinical Anatomy
Dr. Sanjay Jaju
Behavioural Medicine & Epidemiology
Dr. Seif Al-Abri
Infectious Diseases
Prof. Sulayma Al-Barwani
Dr. Sultan Al-Maskari
Orthopaedic Surgery
Dr. Sunil Nadar
Dr. V. Gowri
Obstetrics & Gynaecology
Dr. Yasmine Al-Hatimy
Health & Safety and Medical Ethics
Prof. Yasser Wali
Child Health

International Advisory Board Members

Dr. Alessandro Cavalcanti
Paraiba State University
Prof. Ali Taher
University of Beirut
Prof. Atul K. Bhan
Harvard Medical School
Prof. Desiderio Passali
Universita di Siena
Prof. Ganesh Gopalakrishnan
Urology Society India
Prof. Hafiz T.A. Khan
University of West London
Prof. Henk Wallenburg
Erasmus University
Prof. James J. Walker
University of Leeds
Prof. Kusum Kapila
University of Kuwait
Prof. Lars Andersson
University of Kuwait
Prof. Nivritti G. Patil
University of Hong Kong
Prof. Sir Peter Morris
University of Nottingham
Prof. Russel J. Reiter
University of Texas Health Science Center
Dr. Sanjib Kumar Ghosh
All India Institute of Medical Sciences
Prof. William Brady
University of Virginia Medical Center